1396893_394092084027168_414729475_o

Music Monday … Broadway

Ok, I don’t know for how much longer this clip is going to stay up on Youtube, but I’m sure it will be long enough for you to enjoy it at least once.

Yesterday I FINALLY started on the Gypsy-Chapter of my Master thesis (only 6 days late….wow….) and I’ve made it kind of a tradition to listen to the recordings of the shows I write about while writing – which led to exessive listening to Patti LuPone belting out “Blow, Gabriel, Blow” the week before.

Anyways…while I went back to Gypsy I began to particularly like the “Broadway”-track from the West Ende Revival recording, which is a part of the “Dainty June and her Farmboys”-routine Momma Rose has her girls to in an audition. And somehow I’m a) really smitten with the way June is like really hitting the good ol’ Broadway-vibe in her part (around the 1:20 minute mark) and b) I just LOVE the way the music in Gypsy pretends to be older than it really is and in “Broadway” they really celebrate that! Plus: I mean – isn’t that whole orchestra-pretending-to-be-a-train-thing HILARIOUS? It’s giving my a great time in the library at least.😉

I hope your week is off to a good start and you’re listening to cool things on this Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

