DSC_0040

These are a few of my favourite Things … September 2015

After a long time first with weekly recaps and then a long time with no recaps at all I introduced a new series of favourite-posts  – the monthly ones. (yay!) Because when all these beauty-fashion-lifestyle bloggers can do these favourite-things, then why can’t a theatre-girl, right?

Let’s have a look back on my favourite in a month in which I spend three out of four weekends out of Berlin.

Favourite Night out with the Shows
Well…there was my school trip to Ruhrtriennale where we “saw” a production/ a musical staging (some would call it “concert”…) of Luigi Nono’s Prometheo. That was a very special experience. Looking back at it I can’t even quite put my finger on it why I have this special feeling about it and I guess this is kind of the magic of this work.

And I can name my least favourite night out! It was when I went to revisit the production of Ball im Savoy at Komische Oper. I didn’t like it the first time I went two years ago and this time it was no different. Plus: Some idiot(s) stole my bike. In Berlin-Mitte. Right in front of the Komische Oper. Yes. Right. That sucked.

Favourite Night in with the Show-tunes
Who isn’t buzzing about Hamilton these days, seriously? I reached that level of obsessed where I stayed home all day, knitting and listening to that recording when it was still streaming-only. And ever since it was avaliable digitally I listened to it whereever I went. With some small-ish breaks. But yes. And when I didn’t listen to it I had some of these tunes stuck in my head like crazy.

Favourite Thing on Twitter / The Internet
While I’m pretty sure I’ve spend a ton of time on the internet I can’t really say I have an absolute favourite on either twitter or the internet. But I’ll probably go with Laura Benanti’s article about miscarriages because I always love when people make use of their status to put our minds on a specific (important) – and yes, female, feminist – topic and I especially love when people who are known for being funny and who are loved for that quality open up about something that isn’t quite like that.

Chapeau, Laura!

Favourite Youtube-Video
An oldie, but goldie. I can’t every get enough of Dachshunds anyway. But a dachshund plus a stuffed-mechanical penguin? Yes, please! Anytime!

Favourite Moment
So many things made me happy especially in the end of the month. A friend of mine finally came out as gay to his parents and I’m so proud. I got asked to do something I’m thrilled about and very happy to do (it’s work related)! My friendship with another friend of mine grows and grows and right now I can’t imagine being without his friendship. I spend two hours on skype with a close friend and that made me happy for DAYS. And I went over to Frankfurt over the past weekend to see my lovely friend whom I met three years ago when we were attending the same class in our Haifa summer-school.

Plus: I met absolutely lovely people in the beginning of the month when I attended a workshop by kritTFM in Vienna and I had a splendid time.

Special Favourite: Favourite Activity That Isn’t Remotely Related to Theatre
KNITTING! I’ve knitted ALL the socks this month and I watched knitting podcasts on youtube which appears to be a thing in the knitting community. Actually I’ve returned to knitting during our trip to the UK and I think I caught the knitting-bug harder than ever. I’ve finished 6 (SIX!) pairs of socks in the month of September – which means 12 socks! 12!!!!

Look at a couple of them piled up…

What did you do?

Have you had any great theatre-related moments?

Or any favourite moments at all?

Leave a Reply

