1396893_394092084027168_414729475_o

Music Monday … Song of Purple Summer

I can’t say I’m not excited about the revival of Spring Awakening that just opened on Broadway yesterday, especially since it’s a bi-lingual production in English and ASL and the way ASL is sung (or appears to be…since I won’t have the chance to catch it live…) has a very dance-y, choreographic level to it. It’s amazing and interesting and SO catches me as a theatre scholar primarily focussing on body and the ways bodies can be presented on stage and of course because of my history with the dance studies and my short intermezzo in this Master programme.

In short: I LOVE the ASL translation of Spring Awakening and for the first propper week of fall I wanted to post a Music Monday with “Summer” in the title….just because I’m a weirdo like that. Hence….meet the English/ ASL-version of “The Song of Purple Summer” (which is an amazing song, even in one language…)

Happy start to your new week!

Leave a Reply

