IMG_3800

#theaterkindtakesUK …

… First Stop: Brighton

(the one in which I ramble on and on about workout-pants and food)

I’ll start off my more in depth series about my recent road trip with the first stop of the UK portion of our trip, mostly because I want to put both of our short stays in Belgium together in the end of this series.

As I mentioned in my first post last week we arrived in Brighton around 9:30pm with raining pouring down – but we pretty muchDSCN1075 found a parking spot right in front of our AirBnb (which we booked like a week in advance after I’d found out that the camping site wouldn’t take us with an arrival past 8pm) which was not only very handy, but almost glorious.

We were greeted by our host and settle in our ‘home’ for the next two nights – a very cozy room on the top floor (kind of a former attic). Our hosts we super accomodating and even had parking permits for us to put in the car and maps – my Mom and I love us some maps….

Anyway – the next morning we were up bright and early (time difference! I’m very sensitive to that – I’m that person that is put off by daylight-saving for days!) and I went for a quick run down to the beach, along said beach for a while and then back up. ‘Up’ because Brighton is HILLY. I definitely learned that the hard way when I got lost during my run and found me running back on the same road I took down to the sea – and by “down” I mean DOWN!

After my run and a shower we had one of the coziest breakfasts ever in our room, during this trip I’ve developed a very extensive muesli-habit with ALL the ingredients and I’ve sticked to it up until today. At some point in the morning – probably around 10 we left our place and I took my mother to the sea – that’s one of the things I liked about running right the morning after you’ve arrived somewhere: you explore the area and in a very weird way I always consider myself a pro after that….

DSC_0056Basically when you went straight ahead from our Airbnb-place down to the sea you’d be more or less at the old pier I fell in love 10 years ago when the host family I was staying with for a part of my school trip in 8th grade took me along with their girls down to Brighton from London to celebrate their wedding anniversary. I guess I’ve always had a heart for old and broken stuff. We took a nice walk (wait for the other posts about that trip….that walk-thing will be a pattern…) along the beach to the pier and from there we turned towards the lanes – not without a quick stoll around the temple about which I’ve always kept telling one of my favourite memories from the trip down to Brighton 10 years ago when my host-mum asked when (when we were passing the temple in the car): “Lisanne, it looks like the Taj Mahal, doesn’t it?” Me: “Mmmh….I’m not too sure….” She: “LISANNE! Say it looks like Taj Mahal!” Me: “Yes, it looks like Taj Mahal.” Very funny.

The nerds we are we – of course took ALL the pictures of the temple from the outside, but didn’t go inside, because we turned more towards the lanes where we mostly did some window shopping except for when I walked into a Sweaty Betty store and left (quite a while later) with two pairs of workout-pants and with a ridiculous amount of money less in my bank account. The story behind that is that I’d been in the market as you say for a second pair of 3/4-length workout-pants and a long pair. I have this amazing pair of Lululemon DSC_0064Wonder-Under Crops which I love, and I was planning to buy a second pair plus a full-length pair since one pair of cropped pants isn’t really cutting it with my workout-schedule, if you know what I mean…So now Sweaty Betty instead. What really got me into the pants I bought was the fact that they both are reversible – so you basically get four styles in two pairs of pants. And especially the long pair came in very handy for long drives and short flights like the one I took to Vienna in the beginning of September (because on flights I do not proper pants. no way.). Anyway….as with most workout-clothes-stores I could have bought the whole store, because how pretty is all this clothing and I actually need a lot (the amount of workout-socks I own is ridiculous and still from time to time I’ll end up not having fresh socks to wear, oh well…). Enough of that workout-talk here, this is not the place. No.

My Mom was very much into the thought of having proper Fish and Chips which we got for her in a restaurant near the pier (Harry Ramsden’s) I found when I googled Best Fish and Chips in Brighton when I sat in front of a Itsu with my green smoothie across from a Boots and took advantage of the free Boots-Wifi.

After lunch we went a little more back up, away from the sea. I’d done some research beforehand and found a (what appears to be) independent health food store where I wanted to stock up on sugar free Provamel soya-yoghurt (#excitingtimes!) and took some time to go through ALL the raw snack-bars in order to find new things. Infinity Foods is located in the North Laine, an area that has gone from “slum” to hipster. There was an incredible amount of people, but Infinity Foods was probably the second best health store in went into in the UK – the best one being the one and only Whole Foods we tracked down in London. I stocked up on my favourite soya-yoghurt and bought a bit of the Coyo coconut yoghurt (which had me in awe a few days later….it was amazing, I’m in LOVE, everyone in the UK, go out and splurge and buy youself one of those! Right now!).

DSC_0075On our walk back to the place we stopped for a coffee up at Seven Dials (a kinda fancy roundabout close to our Airbnb) in a small coffee shop called Maple Café. Sadly they did not have a restroom when I was in desperate need of one, but they had vegan flapjacks and I can only tell you that I’ve developed a love for this stuff – I’ll have to try out all these flapjack-gone-“healthy” recipies on the internet (without refined sugar and stuff…). Plus the girls working there were AMAZING! When I went inside to pay for our coffies we chatted for a bit and I told them we’d be going to St. Ives the next day and one of the girls gave us a couple of recommendations because she said she was caming there every year! What a funny coincidence, right?

And because we are just as boring as we are we went home around 5:30pm and just chilled in the room, making dinner and stuff.

As I’m typing this this day seems pretty boring and random to me, but it was a great relaxed start for the UK portion of our trip. I swear.

Next week I’ll hopefully be back with a post about our four nights at a camping site near St. Ives, Cornwall.

Links and Recommendations:

If you don’t have too much time I’d say skip the lanes and head to North Laine.🙂

Our lovely AirBnb-Place with all the warmest recommendations.

Sweaty Betty for the sporty female among you.

For good coffee and nice people in a not too crowded place: Maple Café

For the health-nuggets among you: Infinity Foods

Leave a Reply

