IMG_3841

#theaterkindtakesUK – an Overview

A while back I hashtagged many of my posts over on my instagram with #theaterkindtakesUK which was not really true since I didn’t really take the UK over by any means, but I did travel there during the last two weeks of August.

I can’t believe it has been a month now since we left, but it has been and now I decided I’d put on up a couple of off-topic (aka non-theatre) posts about that trip, because who doesn’t what to know about that morning I jumping-jack-ed out of the tent like a maniac not far from St. Ives? Or that time when ran around the camping-site 25 times and pretty much weirded out all the other folks? Or the time I made my Mama walk London for about 10k in one day? Or about the day we went and visited the real Downton Abbey?

To be honest probably noone wants to read about it, but I’ll tell you nontheless.
This post is going to be an overview about our itinerary and how I made it up.

DSCN1264

So – we went by car…or as we like to put it we took Jochen, that’s our car, out for a trip.
In short we drove the following route: Berlin – Antwerp (Belgium) – Brighton (UK) – St. Ives (UK) – Bath (UK) – London (UK) – Bruges (Belgium) – Berlin, which came up to about 3500 kilometers on the road with all the driving back and forth and the daytrips and stuff. And it was EXCITING!

Basically I came up with the idea of this trip in the aftermath of the Tony Awards (yes, right!) when my fingers almost klicked on the button to buy expensive plane tickets to New York the see ALL the shows and to get my portion of the huge #genderparity and #tesori2015-vibe. Right in the nick of time I suddenly realized that this would be more than just a little extravagant to go over to NYC three years in a row to spend a fortune….instead I decided to convice my mom of the little adventure we had then.

I have dreamt about a roadtrip around South-England for quite a long time now, but I never would have thought that it’d come around so soon. As a person who likes to think and plan everything through until she’s so scared she doesn’t do anything I was very, very chilled about that trip.

Basically I put up the itinerary in just a couple of hours with google maps considering how far we wanted to drive in one day (well….one drive was sooooo long I didn’t consider that all too well, but more on that topic later) and what we wanted to see.

Berlin – Antwerp

I put an overnight-stay in Antwerp in our trip because a) I’ve never been to Belgium – in fact I’ve never been to any of the more Western European countries with the exception of the Netherlands (and Spain….), I know SHAME ON ME, but from Berlin it’s kinda far away….but then: so are the US and Israel… and b) Antwerp is located very conviniently on the route from Berlin to Dunkerque which we chose over Calais as our port. We left at 4 in the morning and arrived there around noon. Not too bad, right?

Antwerp – Brighton

Well….in fact it was Antwerp – Dunkerque – Dover – Brighton. We left Antwerp around noon and drove about 2hrs to Dunkerque where we checked in and then waited. Driving onto the ferry was as easy as 1 – 2 – 3, driving off was a little bit trickier, since trucks were ALL around and…you know….driving on the other side of the road. The drive from Dover to Brighton was about another two hours and we arrived at our Airbnb place around 9:30pm. Originally we had planned to stay at a camping site near Brighton, but a week before we were schedule to arrive I was lucky enough to check back in on them and it turned out that they won’t take any arrivals after 8pm. In fact we were more than happy with that change of plans because it was dark, very very very dark when we arrived (and I’d never put up or tent before) and – YES! – it was raining. I liked to say that I couldn’t have wished for a more British welcome. In these first two hours of the UK part of our trip I drove through darkness, rain AND fog on what is for me the wrong side of the road. And we came out alive.

Brighton – St. Ives

Two nights after we arrived in Brighton we left it already early in the morning (not really, around 9am) because we had a long day ahead of us. We decided to drive mostly on smaller streets since we did want to see something of the country that wasn’t streets and streetsigns or other cars. It took us about 9 hours including VERY long queues in thick fog and me navigating the last twenty minutes in the good ol’ analogue way because apparently SatNavs fail whenever they are told to find a camping site….We put up our tent and arranged everything in about an hours and then we had a glorious cup of coffee. It wasn’t raining.

St. Ives – BathDSC_0197

We took down our tent and packed the car while it was pouring down like there was now tomorrow. I kid you not. We left at around 11 I’d say after we packed and dried ourselves off and got ready for the ride which took us about 4 hours. Our new camping site was very muddy but I don’t remeber it raining when we put up our (still wet…) tent once more. This time: 45 minutes until the coffee! Yay! And I went for a run around the site.

Bath – London

It took us longer to pack up then we expected since it wasn’t really raining, but our tent was still wet from the nights before and the dew….plus we packed everything super neatly. We left at around 9:30am and arrived in East London where our Airbnb was at around 1pm. Our SatNav send us all the way THROUGH CENTRAL LONDON and I had volunteered to drive. After that I’m not sure to many things can shock me. Really.

London – Bruges

Again, in fact it should be London – Dover – Dunkerque – Bruges. Since we wanted to have some time in Bruges we booked our ferry to leave at 2pm, so we left London around 10 to not have to hurry and there really wasn’t any need for it, the ferry wasn’t fully booked, there was good coffee near the waiting area (I’m talking soya latte here, folks!) and overall it was a very nice experience. The drive from Dunkerque to Bruges is a little more than an hours and with all those one-way-streets in the city center we had a little trouble finding a) our hotel and b) the parking lot we could park. But we did. Eventually.

Bruges – BerlinDSCN1170

We left around 1pm and arrived back home around 9:30 I believe. Funnily enough we aren’t very into long breaks during our rides, even the superlong ride from Brighton to St. Ives we had only a toilet break at a gas station (two birds, one stone…) and a  short stop where we walked around the car a couple of times and then I took over the wheel (we like to go and stop briefly only for a couple of reasons: toilet break, gas/petrol, driver’s change, reached our destination) – however: we happened to have a almost 50minutes long break somewhere close to the Ruhrgebiet in Germany on our drive back and we didn’t even notice. Very, very strange.

But we were home!

So this was a rather short-ish overview of the driving portion of our trip.

Over the next few posts and / or weeks I’m planning on seperated posts to every stop of our trip like what we did there and where we went and what we’d recommend and stuff.

Alright?

See you then!

Leave a Reply

