1396893_394092084027168_414729475_o

Music Monday … Everything’s Coming up Roses

After last week’s rather contemporary pick for a MusicMonday I decided to go with a much more classic tune.

To be completely honest I have to say that my first encounter with “Everything’s Coming Up Roses” (at leat the first one I remeber very distinctly…) was Bernadette Peters singing it on the first season of Smash – who remebers that awkward scene when she as Ivy’s mother waltzes into the rehearsalroom and suddenly schedules are forgotten and EVERYONE (except maybe Ivy…) wants her to sing that song?

Yes, I was THAT late to the party. To cut me some slack: Gypsy isn’t very popular in Germany or the German speaking countries.

Since that first I’ve heard it twice in productions with the first one being the more interesting one, because when I went to see this very re-imaginatory production of Gypsy in that night club in Berlin with a cast of only three, the woman playing Rose was literally singing parts of it to my face. With her face only about 10 inches away from mine.

It was intense, basically.

The second one was a very recent encounter when I finally got to see more of a ‘traditional’ staging of the show. As I mentioned on my facebook page when I posted a pic of my ticket that night I was genuinely happy all performance long because – since Gypsy is so closely related to my work on my MA-thesis – everything seems to fall in place seeing it for the first time (as you can imagine the night-club production cut A TON of things…) and finding so many thoughts I’ve had about it contained on stage in that West End production.

Anyway….enough of that rambling, let’s hear the Rose(s) coming, ok?

What are you listening to today?

I’d be thrilled if you shared it with me!

Leave a Reply

