DSC_0040

These are a few of my favourite things … August 2015

After a long time first with weekly recaps and then a long time with no recaps at all I introduced a new series of favourite-posts last month – the monthly ones. (yay!) Because when all these beauty-fashion-lifestyle bloggers can do these favourite-things, then why can’t a theatre-girl, right?

August was travel-heavy as I was on a proper vacation for the last two weeks of the month, I just came back on Aug 31st and now I am excited for September as it has some more travelling in the wings for me. But first: Let’s look back!

Favourite Night out with the Shows
In this past month there wasn’t that many nights out at the theatre – for outher people the 5 things I saw might count as many, but here….anyways….I had fun most nights of those 5. But I might have to say my favourite one was our first night in London when we went to see Gypsy at the Savoy Theatre. Gypsy (as in the musical, not exclusively this particular production) will be part of my Master thesis as I have it in mind these days. I had seen a very small very re-imaginatory production 1.5 years ago (read what I thought about that one back then…by klicking here) but frankly I was not all too familiar with the show in depth. So when I sat there seeing it – after I’ve had a dinner of an almond banane smoothie and coffee at Whole Foods in Picadilly Circus – and it fit into my theory and into my MA thesis so well I grew happier my the minute. I know this is a kinda selfish thing to say, but do you know these moments when you’ve had a glas of wine before going to the theatre and everything appears to be so bright and nice and kind of cozy then? That was how I felt – only without the wine.

You could say I was rather happy.

In case you want to see what I thought about the other nights out this (and all the past months) head over to the Theaterkind facebook-page where I post a pic of most tickets / ticket stubs / programmes for every night out and write a couple of sentences about it. Here’s the album with my Tickets of 2015.

Favourite Night in with the Show-tunes
As we were on a roadtrip we listened to a lot of show tunes while driving (actually here’s a fun thing to do – think of ALL the songs from shows that include driving or mentioning travel. Comment below with your ideas, will you? Please?😉 ). Our favourites were deifinitely Something Rotten, Finding Neverland (also VERY good for a rainy afternoon of knitting in the tent) and funnily enough Ich war noch niemals in New York which I saw right before we left for the trip and you can’t do too much wrong with a more camp-y version of good ol’ German schlager, right? No? No?🙂

Favourite Thing on Twitter
As wifi is a rare thing on camping site I’m pretty sure I’ve missed a lot on twitter. But what I didn’t miss was the sad new about the sudden death of Kyle Jean-Baptiste who made his Broadway debut in Les Miserables (and history as the youngest and frist afro-american to step onto stay in the role of Jean Valjean which he understudied). Related to this I have to say my favourite thing was by AnnoyingActorFriend who decided to try and take one another challenge after his successful #dim4joan last year. His attempt was to get the Broadway League to dim all the marquees of all the Broadway theatre in honour of the young actor the New York theatre community had just lost and he wrote a short, but very touching post about why it is important: Why #dim4kyle is important.

And thank you that you’re so meta you blow your own mind and that I love you for your parody but I decided not to make a Smash reference here.

Favourite Youtube-Video
Again this wifi on the camp-site-thing….but what I watched TONS before we left was a probably illegally filmed video of a song from Ich war noch niemals in New York. I got addicted to it because DAMN, Sarah Schütz has got some pipes!

And I’m even a little bit more addicted to “Aber bitte mit Sahne” –

Favourite Moment
After the moment I woke up with a stomach-bug after a super fun night out with friends and some show tunes in Berlin (no, it wasn’t the alcohol, it was the vietnamese food I had before….) won’t make the cut in this category, I have a very big favourite moment that was about two weeks long. I’m thinking of the trip we just got back from. In two weeks we travelled the route Berlin – Antwerpen – Brighton (via Dunkerque and Dover….the ferry….) – St. Ives – Bath – London – Bruges (again, the ferry) and back to Berlin with Jochen, our car, packed with a tent, sleeping bags and all the bits and bops you need. We had a fabulous time and conquered driving on what is the wrong side of the road for us.

Who would like to read one or two little off-topic posts about that trip? Because I would certainly enjoy writing them!

Special Favourite: The Ugly-Cry (once again!)
I planned on featuring a changing special favourite of the month but after last month’s ugly-cry-favourite it’s already time for another one! The second show we saw in London was Billy Elliot (FINALLY!) and all I say is: Billy Elliot and THE LETTER! And Electricity (I even cry when I’m watching a video of a TV appearance of that song). And the reprise of The Letter. I cried so hard my chin got all wobbly and it probably looked like the pit of a nectarine.

Like this:

I hope you had a great summer (is summer already over?) – I have a little more ‘free’ time (haha, good joke) since I won’t go back to school before the end of the month.

What did you do?

Have you had any great theatre-related moments?

And don’t forget to comment the driving-travelling-songs from ALL the shows!😀

One comment

  1. First off: I would loooove to read off-topic posts about your trip! I love to read about travel and especially when the route is as exciting as yours was.🙂

    My showtunes-favorite of August was probably Heathers, which I have listened to obsessively over the last few weeks. I also listened to a lot of Doctor Zhivago.

    As for the travel songs, here are some that come to my mind:
    – When I Drive (Bonnie & Clyde)
    – Travel Song (Shrek)
    – Out There on the Road (Big Fish)
    – Run Away With Me (The Unauthorized Autobiography of Samantha Brown)
    – On the Right Track (Pippin)
    – Winter On the Wing (The Secret Garden; especially for trips in spring)
    – Better Than Before (Next to Normal; maybe not really, but hey, they sing about their family road trip)
    – Seven Wonders (Catch Me If You Can; love ballad at its chore, but still about traveling)
    – Telephone Wire (Fun Home; for ugly-crying rides at dusk)
    – the last two minutes of the Into the Woods prologue if you are going hiking

Leave a Reply

