DSC_0040

These are a few of my favourite things …. July 2015

People who have been around this blog for quite some time now might be familiar with a series of posts I was sticking to for quite a while. Weekly recaps noting my favourite things or just the things I did in general this particular week. When I changed schools last fall and transferred to my school in Leipzig while still living in Berlin this grew rather boring pretty soon. Because typing in “I was on the train for a HUGE amount of time” just wasn’t very…..interesting…..although the last one of these posts hasn’t been published all too long ago….(check it out here: My Week #50) So let me introduce you to a new series of favourite-posts – the monthly ones. (yay!) Because when all these beauty-fashion-lifestyle bloggers can do these favourite-things, then why can’t a theatre-girl, right?

Favourite Night out with the Shows

Actually this is quite hard….I had so many good and challenging and pleasurable nights out this month…Starting with not really July, but almost and nonetheless a special night, the opening night of our Freischütz from HMT Leipzig shown at Uni Jena where they host a Hofoper open air every year. It was cold and it started to rain rather heavily with about 7 more minutes to go and everyone had to be relocated into the university’s big auditorium, but still it was great to see all our singers weeks after our final performance in Leipzig. My classmate and I, we are definitely #overlyattacheddramaturgs! Other favourites of the month were seeing the graduation piece of my dear friend who is graduating from his MA dramaturgy program in Ludwigsburg this summer, having my mind shifted and queered while seeing Cabaret in Bad Hersfeld and – of course – the night I had with Lotte in Wetzlar.

Favourite Night in with the Show-tunes

Recently I returned to power-listening to Jesus Christ Superstar. I don’t know what this is saying about me….And I am OBSESSED with especially “Stronger” and the ensemble version of “Play” from Finding Neverland (found on spotify, until my copy of the CD arrives) – my love for “Believe” wore out a little after watching this video for about a hundred million times… What also kept me entertained was the Broadway Summer 2015 Playlist on Spotify promoted and hosted by Playbill.com. Good thing especially since I kind of suck with putting together playlists. Bad thing for a dramaturg, I know.

Favourite Read

Sadly I haven’t made much room for reading real books this month, but I love going trough all the answers young women in theatre gave to the question “What did it mean to you to see so many women win Tony Awards this year?” over on The-Interval.com – I am also featured with my personal answer. The Interval is a very favourite read of mine in general….let me especially recommend to you the interviews with Jeanine Tesori and Kelli O’Hara who both won Tonys this year with Jeanine Tesori making history in the #genderparity department.

Favourite Thing on Twitter

I can’t name one single favourite tweet of the month although @Actor_Friend’s tweet I’ve posted a picture of over on my facebook page is pretty damn hilarious. But my favourite hashtags however must be #drunkopera (where you put alcohol and opera titles together and have LOADS of fun!) and, of course, #YayHamlet because this is just so so so incredibly good marketing in the 21st century! (expect a post about that soon….) And on the same not, Lin-Manuel Miranda has been killing it on twitter lately, once again.

Favourite Youtube-Video

I’m not a big watcher of fun videos on there, but I watch ALL the show videos, usually. Lately I’ve returned to watching Emmy Raver-Lampman’s version of “All of Me” at 54below:

And Margo Seibert asking the single most important question of every single’s life:

And speaking of Youtube….if you want good music (sometimes new musical theatre songs from showcases) delivered by good performers in good quality from New York – go and subscribe to FamousInNY.

Favourite Netflix Watch

Mid-August my Mom and I go on a two week long road trip to South England (Berlin – Antwerp – Brighton – St. Ives – Bath – London – Bruges – Berlin) and I anticipation of this trip I’ve just binge watched the first season of Broadchurch on Netflix. Boy! Beautiful and so addictive!

Favourite Moment

It was a very dear friend of mine’s birthday (actually it was a number of my favourite people’s birthdays…) late this month and after he was giving me one of my most hysterical ugly cries in the last year with the small present he hid for me birthday back in February I wantd to give him something “special”, like a more ideally special thing. And I think, because seeing him open it and being excited about it, was very, very joyful! (and: has it brought you any bad luck because I gave it to you early?) Also seeing my amazing friend K. in Frankfurt mid-July when I was there for a dramaturgy students meet-up and meeting up with an aquaintance I’ve know for AGES (we’re talking me being 16 when we met!) what also very nice. In general July somehow was about meeting new people and I loved it. Plus: I got my own business cards. Only 50 of them for a start because I’m sure somethings will chance once I’ve graduated next summer, but….YAY! They are beautiful and I’m very proud.

Special-Favourite: The Ugly Cry of July 2015

This one is quite easy. People might know that – opposit to what I appear like – I can be quite a teary person. But I like to keep the tears either inside my room while listenting to something or inside a theatre. So when a friend of mine first shared “When your feet don’t touch the ground” from Finding Neverland with me on facebook there it was: my ugly cry of the month!

What were some of your favourites in July? I LOVE to get to know new things!

One comment

Leave a Reply

