Music Monday … On the Deck of a Spanish Sailing Ship

Sometimes oldies are goldies.

Yesterday I went to Leipzig to see the last ever class of (contemporary) musical theatre students doing their last performance of Songs for a New World. Ages ago, when I was still in high school, I used to be obessed with it and there are so many memories tied to the score! I haven’t listened to the score in its entiery in a while, though. Of course there are songs like Steam Train and King of the World that are amazing to listen to when riding your bike or doing anything higher energetic…but I also almost forgot about how heartbreaking I’d give it all for you is! (I seem to have a thing for these JRB-love-songs) A song I almost completey forgot about and I’m slightly embarrassed to say so, is On the Deck of a Spanish Sailing Ship! I just remeber how obessed I used to be with this acapella parts, I’d listen to them over and over and over and over again for hours.

So let’s take time this Monday to revisit my teenage obession! If you own the recording, play it, it’s an amazing version on there.If you don’t…

a) buy it! It’s worth it!

b) Spotify sure has it.

c) I found this one and it sounds rather nice.

Leave a Reply

