My Week #48, Jan 19th – 25th

what I saw
this may come as a kind of weirdo-thing, but I saw Shrek in Berlin again. Twice. Which makes – after the preview I saw in Düsseldorf last fall – three Shrek performances I’ve seen. And after the one I saw on Thursday I was so happy I was able to catch another performance on Sunday. It was very different, higher in energy and simply so much better. In between Shreks I saw Die taube Zeitmaschine, a production with hearing as well as (various states of) deaf performers for a hearing as well as (various states of) deaf audiences.

what I read
the New York Times.

what I listened to
oldies, but goldies: Shrek, Rent and Vanities. Most of the times.

what I did
My first semester in Leipzig is coming to an end! I had a presentation in one of my classes on Wednesday which needs to be finished next week, but still….On Wednesday also Legida was ‘protesting’ in Leipzig (for the people not from Germany/Europe: A protest-movement of ‘patriotic’ people was started in Dresden late last year protesting against foreigner and immigrants. Leipzig has a smaller, but more aggressive branch of it…) and the whole city of in a state of exeption – that definitely was a strange experience, especially since I got on the train and arrived in Berlin and Berlin mostly was like: “Oh boy! The S-Bahn isn’t going as it should!”


What did you do?

The Theaterkind facebook page is only 3 away from 100 likes! Can we make it? That’d be AWESOME.🙂

Have a great new week!

Leave a Reply

