My Week #47, Jan 11th – 18th

I always wanted to save the return of the weekly review-posts for a year’s recap just as I did last year, but just now I really felt like writing a post and here it comes. The statistics of 2014 will come sooner or later. Promise.

what I saw
my lovely friend F. was nice enough to think of me when planning her visits at the Tanztage festival. While we were involved via school project with this festival last year (check out what I wrote about that here!), we went for fun this time. On Monday we saw an interpretation of Sacre we had already seen before and we couldn’t be bothered to like more than we did the first time seeing it – which wasn’t very much. The next day we went to see a performance by a former stripper giving everyone who wanted (or just didn’t say ‘No’) a lapdance and telling us about her work. I liked that performance quite a bit – partly because I’m all in for experiments (I did say no to that lapdance though) and partly because I hope my MA thesis is going to deal with sexwork in musical theatre. For the rest of the week I sticked to watching classmates rehearse for our showcase which happened on Sunday.

what I read
after 3.5 weeks I finished Nino Haratischwili’s amazing novel “Das achte Leben (für Brilka)”. 1275 pages of Georgian family stories that sucked me in so much I couldn’t even think about sleeping. That was definitely a book you read at night for ‘just half an hour’ and two hours later you still haven’t slept and have to wake up in 5 hours. Been there, done that.

what I listened to
Funnily enough I really felt like “It all fades away”. Loads of hours. Also I’ve gone back to Rent (the movie soundtrack) quite a bit. And Vanities is kind of my new-ish love.

what I did
This week was kind of a week of back luck. On Friday I first broke the key to my bicycle lock, then came home to no hot water in our flat, the my train was running late for my solo rehearsal on Saturday morning and in the evening I had to go to an ER because I was stupid enough to show my classmates how a burpee is done with no shoes on. Which lead to slipping and supporting my falling with my left hand. Which was swollen afterwards and still hurts like a….But other than that I had a good time with my classmates in Leipzig with our project’s showcase. But I also recieved very encouraging emails regarding my plans for this coming summer.


What did you do?

The Theaterkind facebook page is only 3 away from 100 likes! Can we make it? That’d be AWESOME.🙂

Have a great new week!

Leave a Reply

