My top 5 things that moved me in 2014

…as an audience member.

I like lists and I cannot lie. I’m sorry, but the last weeks of a year just make me want to write lists. So here they come, the top 5 moments I experienced as a theatre-goer in 2014. In no particular order. And most of them involved crying and – funnily enough – other people.

1) My Mama just before seeing Anything Goes in St. Gallen: “Uh…I don’t like comedies like that!” Me: “Well, just sit and listen and watch and if you decide to like it eventually it’ll be worth much more, right?” Mama as intermission is about to start, smiling: “What you said just happenend!”

2) During a short trip to Dresden with my classmates from Leipzig, most of them wanted to go and see a production of Shakespeare’s Hamlet. As you might or might not know I usually don’t chose Shakespeare if I have a choice. And I had and to I took my classmate H to see the smaller scale production Weiße Flecken of the Bürgerbühne in Dresden (a phenomenon I mentioned in one of my newmusicaltheatre.com blogposts) by a director I know very well. Sensing her excitement and seeing how touched she was by what happenend on stage and talking to her afterwards about what we just had seen, which obviously a first for her, was great and made me not regret my decision to not have joined the others.

3) the very small production of Exit Paradise at Neuköllner Oper Berlin which I saw this fall. It was not so much about being moved or touched in a Bridges of Madison County kind of way, but it definitely was one of the most dense theatrical experiences I ever had. It was a small venue, the cast was highly energetic and acted/sung their bottoms off…

4) the closing performance of Barcode, a new chamber opera my mentioned classmate H and I were the dramaturgs for. After we had seen this production a lot, both of us probably didn’t expect this performance to be much different, but it blew us away. I guess we still are pretty proud of our singer-actors and what they accomplished.

5)
IMG_1811

This. Note the conductor. And I mean: This show as a whole. Whom am I kidding, right? (Who doesn’t know what I’m hinting at here, check out this post!)

One comment

  1. Yo I’m just going through some of your old posts and I just wanted to say that I can relate so much with the first paragraph because I am obsessed with lists (especially at the end of a year) amd I looove to rank things like favorite musicals/recordings/whatever of the year!

Leave a Reply

