5 favourite musical theatre things in 2014

1) Bridges of Madison County – I know, I mentioned that A TON on here! You don’t remember? Are you kiddin’ me? Check out this and that and that….More than 7 months after my visit at the Schoenfeld theatre it still wows me. Just last week I had a major re-listen of the score and it is as beautiful as always. I mean: Of course it is, I listen to it on CD. CDs usually don’t change….Boy, honestly I’m doubting I’ve felt something more beautiful in 2014 that this solo cello in the opening, Steven Pasquale’s “It all fades away” (which is great to hysterically cry along, by the way) or the things “Look at me” tells us about Francesca? This music and the memories of the performances I was #blessed enough to see are treasures of my (professional) theatre memory and it re-assures me that theatre and music might be the biggest love of my life.

2) my travels – I like to go on trains and I really like to go places. This year my (musical) theatre obsession has brought me to serveral countries and cities including St. Gallen and Zurich (Switzerland), a couple of German cities and of course the all mighty New York City. I like exploring new grounds and still know there’s something in each of my destinations I genuinely love: Theatre. I’ve began to believe that theatre connects people from all kind of countries and it’s hard for me to believe otherwise.

3) the internet – some of you might remember this – earlier this year I was a guest blogger for newmusicaltheatre.com’s blog. In my 8 part series I wrote about (contemprary) musical theatre in Germany. Literally I was so proud to be featured on there, since English isn’t my first language and I love the American musical so much I was over the moon to (potentially) bring my thoughts on German theatre to American and international readers. I deeply adore this website anyway, the articles feautred reflect our business in a way I’d love to read it from German folks as well….Another find this year definitely is the-interval.com, a online magazine reminding us that there aren’t enough women on Broadway or in theatre for that matter and that theatre still is mostly for men, workingwise. (I’ve written about this, too, a while back….read it here). Other than that they do amazing interviews with amazing women in theatre.😉

4) books – this year I read serveral books and atricles dealing with theatre. Two of them are sticking out. Really. One of them of course being “The Untold Stories of Broadway” by the phenomenal Jennifer Ahsley Tepper (check out her twitter for more awesomeness!) which I already wrote about. I loved it and can’t wait until all my other reading is finally done to take my turn with the second installement. The other one is a very crucial one for me as a professional, as a researcher – I spent a week of my summer with Stacy Wolf’s “Changed for Good. A feminist history of the Broadway musical”. Although it in deed is feminist, sometimes more than a only a little polemic the books gives an overview what women on stages can tell or can’t and how men (most of the shows she writes about are written my men with the exception of Caroline, or change and even that only partly) have presented women in their stories throughtout the years.

5) friends – I’ve said that before: I love the community sense of theatre. And this year I’ve made new friends in theatres, around theatres and in the world just meeting people from the community: My classmates from Leipzig, especially my lovely H with whom I spent so much time around the ‘little’ production of Barcode, and so many enthusiastic people I again met this year while working with Bundeswettbewerb Gesang, and – of course, how could I forget you?! – my lovely friend D who a) sung a translation of mine to people, twice and b) is simply amazing!❤
Plus: I’m very, very happy that old friends of mine are still there or back again in my life.

Leave a Reply

