Music Monday … This World Will Remember Us

I admit, the intro is a bit cut, but this amazing jazzy version of Bonnie and Clyde’s ‘partnering up in crime’-song (literally!) from Frank Wildhorn’s Bonnie & Clyde (which is, as I will keep expressing later on this week probably my favourite score written by Wildhorn) is well worth it. I mean: Really.

This world will remember us is the finale of act I and I always see it as a song, that really structures the story of the musical, as well as the story of Bonnie and Clyde (outside of the musical as well?): it sums up what we’ve learned so far and foreshadows what we will be learning about them later on in the show (or: what we already know about them, because their case is kinda known….). In addition to that both Bonnie and Clyde get to reprise their motivation from the first song of the show when their younger selfs sing about their (childhood)dreams and get to stress their points as strong narrators of the show.  And all this in one song.

My thoughts on this song could be so utterly wrong, because I’ve never seen the show – but I will, in September – the European premiere of it in…Bielefeld.

And for those of you who are unfamiliar with the original version and want more of a cast recording vibe, then check out this version:

 

What are you listening to today?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

