A ‘small’ CD Haul

Okay – I bought a lot of CDs. There’s no point in trying to make it sound any better, but this was just such an amazing spring when it comes to new recordings of (new) musicals! Wasn’t it?

I have waited for quite some time because the newest CDs among them just became avaliable from the retailer I’m buying my more ‘special’ recordings from (it’s Sound of Music and no, sadly, I’m not affialiated with them…). Two of the recordings I own digitally already and to two more I have listened on Spotify, but to own them physically is just a must for me if I like the music. I just like CDs as objects. Although I mostly listen to music digitally.

But now to the CDs included in my order.

IMG_2366As you can see there are the following recordings in the pictures:

Ahrens & Flaherty: Nice Fighting You. A 30th Anniversary Celebration live at 54below – I saw one of these concerts on our first night out during our first trip to New York last September (read my post about it here). And there’s Brian Stokes Mitchell und LaChanze singing Sarah Brown Eyes and Wheels of a Dream on it. Can it get much better?

Bullets over Broadway – I think Betsy Wolfe’s “I’ve Found a New Baby” alone would be justify this purchase, right? And: The 20ies!

If/Then – I’ve already listened to it and I’ve seen the last preview before their opening on Broadway. The majority of the songs I really like (again: LaChanze!), but there also is a number of songs which I find rather boring. Sorry, contemporary score.

Rocky – I own the German recording, but this one is SO MUCH BETTER. So much. It’s not only the singers – by the way Rocky and Arian sound a lot lower than their German counterparts do and I think that this suits the tone of the score much more….But the sound, the producing of the recording. So. Much. Better.

Next to Normal (German recording) – listening to this reminds me of the two performance I saw of this production during its original run. The first listen I took made me listen closer to the (German) lyrics which sometimes are hideous and sometimes they are so right on the spot and very direct. The tone of the German language sometimes really goes well with the flow and the tone of some musical moments. The producing is very weird, to really be able to put my finger on that I need to give it another try – with headphones.

The Bridges of Madison County – who am I kidding? I love this score and I’ve already written about it over here. And so did the Tony voters. Fortunately. I also love the recording. Very fine art of studio recording technique can be witnessed here.

Beautiful – I always wanted Kelli O’Hara to win this year’s Tony in the leading actress in a musical category, but if she didn’t win I have always wanted Jessie Mueller to take it instead. Well…and sadly she did. Anyway, the recording not only displays Mueller’s strong vocal performance (so does Bridges, by the way only with O’Hara’s performance. And Steven Pasquale’s.) but also some nice new, modern sounding arrangements/orchestrations of Carole King- and Mann/Weill-songs.

Violet (Broadway recording) – this is like a slightly altered remake of the original recording from 1998. Plus this all star cast from this years Broadway ‘revival’. It sounds nice as far as I can tell from a first quick listen.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

