Music Monday … “Raq Od Yom”

Okay, this title sounds like I’ve found something nobody knows.

It isn’t like this. Sadly. The song I chose for my “return of Theaterkind”-edition of Music Monday is a song probably every musical theatre person knows – it’s “Just Another Day” from Next to Normal. In a language that may sound weird or unusual for most people: Hebrew. The (quite illegal) clip I have found is from the biggest and probably most prestigious theatre in Israel – the HaBima Theatre in Tel Aviv, which by the way is quite a sight from the outside alone.

As posts from the beginning of this blog, from before it was a musical theatre blog, suggest Hebrew is my third language (well….technically my fith, Latin and my all-forgotten knowledge of French don’t count) – and that’s part of why I like this version.

It sounds unusual and unknown and special – in my opinion.

What do you think?
Do you have any favourites in unusual languages? I’d be delighted to read about them in the comments or on my facebook page!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

