My Week #32, Apr 7th – 13th

what I saw
Martin Nachbar’s reconstruction-reenactment-lecture-performance-mash-up Urheben Aufheben at Sophiensaele – including a pre-show lecture held by the woman who graded my BA thesis last year…

the last performance of Xerxes at Komische Oper Berlin (at least for this and the next season) – although it was marked as sold out we scored great tickets at the box office rush.

She She Pop’s latest performance Frühlingsopfer in which they are performing with their mothers.

what I read    
not as much as I would have liked to be reading, but I bought books I need for my admission exam in May.

what I listened to
the concept recording of Frank Wildhorn’s Artus – Excalibur which I’m going to see in St. Gallen next month, the Beautiful OBCR (especially You’ve Got a Friend, I Feel the Earth Move and Beautiful) and when I found a website where you could get sneak peeks of the gorgeous recording of The Bridges of Madison County – and that was actually the end of a weekend not listening to music.😉

what I did
I brought home not only the things I bought in NYC and a bunch of playbills, but also a cold – so once the cold got started I was mostly hanging around listening to music. I also took a placement exam for an English class at university and then applied to said class and got into “Advanced English for Academic Professionals 1a” – weird name, but it starts next week and I’m excited, because I kind of enjoy taking language classes with high levels (I really don’t seem to enjoy beginners’ classes – I remember failing miserably in learning Russian….). For the weekend my loveliest of all former co-workers (from university) came to Berlin for a visit. We had a ball seeing Xerxes together! Plus I spend the Saturday with two other very dear friends. (note: as soon as my cold wore off I had a rather good time.)

 

What did you do?

Are you curious and can’t wait for my posts to see what I thoughts of the shows I saw? On the Theaterkind facebook page I posted pics of the ticket stubs with small thoughts for every show I saw – head over there and check it out!

Have a great new week starting tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

