My Year #1 – Theatrical Life

Again, it’s the end of a year and it’s the time of reviewing what happened that past year and basically it’s all about numbers since it would be weird (and very long) to write a little something about EVERY SINGLE performance I saw this year. So, here they are – a few number before I’ll write some small things that happened for/to me. Have fun and a fantastic start for 2014!

What I saw:

overall 63 performances, what isn’t even close to what Erika Fischer-Lichte, one of the most famous theatre scholars in Germany who was our principal when I first started my BA studies, expected us to see (she said something about seeing two to four shows per week)

  • 6 concert style evenings (2 modern musical concerts, 4 more classical ones including Kurtag’s Kafka Fragements)
  • 32 musical theatre performances, of which 13 are modern musicals, 2 operettas and 17 operas (of which I left one at intermission – first time of my life!)
  • 9 dance performances
  • 16 plays and performances

And I went to the cinema twice. To see Hannah Arendt (Margarethe von Trotta) in January and La Grande Bellezza (Paolo Sorrentino – thank you, M, to take me to see it, I never would have gone on my own)

What I did:

I managed 29 performances of our criminal dinner entertainment and asissted 5. (in 4 or 5 different shows, I’m not completely sure…)

This is my 60th blogpost on here, I listened to endless hours of cast recordings and EPs of new musical theatre composers, spend hours searching for and watching great Youtube-Videos.

I wrote my BA thesis about the construction of Self and Other in two performances with performers from the Middle East. I startet my MA studies in dance studies (a post about how that is fitting into my life will be up soon). I met fabulous new people and lovely colleagues from “back then” and I am entirely happy to have chosen the theatre life six years ago. I still enjoy my work and the people I get to work with mostly are great to work with, I love how theatre can mean family even if you don#t see each other very often. And I started an additional job at the department for theatre studies at Freie Universität Berlin where I work with a research project “The Aesthetics of Applied Theatre” granted by the European Research Council, where I learned how to take care of websites and met great colleagues (who actually are my bosses…).
And I have the feeling that I really, really committed to blogging and I feel great doing so, I miss writing and I realize it only when I’m in fact writing.

I lost friends and found new ones and I was reminded of old ones. I discovered my love for my personal blender and green smoothies (I basically life off these most of the time. Green Smoothies and dried mango).

I spend the summer thinking and over thinking things and basically two people pulled me out of that weird depressive cycle. Even though I’m pretty sure that they won’t read that, I am very, very grateful to have the two of you in my life.

I travelled to some cities in Germany (Kiel, Münster, Nuremberg), Prague and New York City, which I’m completely in love with and I’m very happy to go back this spring – and I had a fantastic weekend of hiking and canoeing (which I really don’t have a talent for) in the Spreewald with great friends, but tons of mosquitos thought it was pretty amazing that I was there, too.

So, there’s a new year coming and I am excited for 2014, to see what will change, what will be just the same as always and after all….what happens to me growing up just a little bit more.

I wish you a very happy new year and see/read you soon, my lovely readers! (and again: I’m eager to hear what made your year special – if you care to share!)🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

