Music Monday … Your Daddy’s Son

When I worked at Bundeswettbewerb Gesang (National Competition for Singers) three weeks ago, suddenly lots of people had “Your Daddy’s Son” from Ragtime in their repertoire. I don’t where that urge to try to battle down Audra McDonald (who, by the way, was born in Berlin!) comes from and only one of all these ladies sung that song iin the end – and she did very well!

I just recently listened to Ragtime for the first time (was it was the case with most of the Aherns/Flaherty-musicals, because of that fabulous concert I went to in NYC) and I fell for “Wheels of a Dream” instantly – I mean who could say no to Brian Stokes Mitchell’s voice? So it took me a little longer to be able to appreciate “Your Daddy’s Son” to full extend.

Let’s just take a listen and appreciate!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

