Newsies on Broadway

ImageWe saw Newsies on Sept. 30th which was a Monday. And most of the Broadway shows don’t do Monday. So we were rather happy when we got tickets, 50% off, but right mezzanine, but okay.

Our seats we nice, and up where they were it wasn’t very crowded (yes, I had room for my legs!), sad thing was that we saw everything from a different angle than ‘planned’ by the creators.

Beforehand I wasn’t too excited to see Newsies, I’ve listened to the recording a couple of times and some of the songs are quite catchy, but I’m not a huge fan of Disney’s musicals per se, so I expected a show good for families and children and some nice music.

And that was totally what I got! I mean okay, some parts I really didn’t like – but not because they were ‘bad’ or ‘not good’, but because I was slightly bored and it wasn’t really my kind of thing.

But let’s talk about the thing being the real deal about Newsies. The dancing. My very first encounter with Newsies was watching the cast appearing on some TV show performing “Kings of New York” – the number where you don’t know if there’s a dance break or a singing break (giving them a break from dancing….) and I was amazed by the pure technical perfection I saw there. And I’d say: If you like dancing and watching people dance in a very acrobatical way Newsies is worth every cent you pay (at least wehn buying discounted tickets…). If we had sat down in the orchestra I definetely would have enjoyed it more than I did though, I really suggest getting orchestra seats for that show because as soon as your point of view changes in comoparison with the ‘optimal’ point of view – which mostly is located somewhere in mid-orchestra – all of the dancing gets a lot less fascinating. Of course we saw everything, but seeing people dance from slightly (or actually: a lot) above is a lot less fun. 

But still, the dancing was (technically) really amazing and I enjoyed watching it – even from slightly above.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

